# Launch Directory Study 2026: 12 Sites Compared

> Of 12 startup launch directories checked by hand on Nov 2, 2026, 9 of 10 sell a paid launch (median $39), none of 9 give every free listing a followed link and 9 of 10 tag outbound links with ref or utm.

Canonical: https://spotlighted.app/research/launch-directories
Last updated: 2026-11-02

Data checked Nov 2, 2026. 13 checked, 12 analyzed.

## Key findings {#findings}

### Paid launch prices {#paid-launch-price}

9 of 10 launch directories with a readable price list sell a paid launch. The median price is $39, from $10.50 to $49.

Out of: Directories whose price list we could read (10); the median is over the 9 that sell a paid launch.

[Link to this finding](https://spotlighted.app/research/launch-directories#paid-launch-price)

### Free followed links {#free-followed-links}

None of the 9 launch directories whose free-listing rules we could read give every free listing a followed (dofollow) link. Of the 9, 4 require a badge or a link back, 3 require votes or a top rank and 2 keep free links nofollow.

Out of: Directories whose rules for free listings we could read (9).

[Link to this finding](https://spotlighted.app/research/launch-directories#free-followed-links)

### Tracking parameters {#ref-parameters}

9 of 10 launch directories whose outbound links we checked add a ref or utm parameter to them, so founders can see the directory as a source in their analytics.

Out of: Directories whose outbound product links we checked (10).

[Link to this finding](https://spotlighted.app/research/launch-directories#ref-parameters)

### Directory submission packages {#submission-packages}

5 of 11 launch directories whose offers we could read sell a done-for-you package that submits your product to other directories, priced from $49 to $279.

Out of: Directories whose offers we could read (11).

[Link to this finding](https://spotlighted.app/research/launch-directories#submission-packages)

### Free tools {#free-tools}

6 of 11 launch directories whose sites we could read publish free tools. The largest lists are ScrollLaunch (73) and DevHunt (about 70).

Out of: Directories whose site we could read (11).

[Link to this finding](https://spotlighted.app/research/launch-directories#free-tools)

## When a free listing gets a followed link {#by-free-link-rule}

Out of the 9 directories whose rules for free listings we could read.

| Rule | Directories | Which |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Every free listing | 0 | - |
| Only with a badge or link back | 4 | ScrollLaunch, CodeHype, ListBulb and Fazier |
| Only with enough votes or a top rank | 3 | Uneed, Peerlist Launchpad and TinyLaunch |
| Never (free links are nofollow) | 2 | Launch Llama and DevHunt |

## Paid launch prices {#by-price-band}

The cheapest paid launch at each of the 9 directories that sell one, as listed on Nov 2, 2026.

| Price | Directories | Which |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Under $15 | 2 | ListBulb ($10.50) and Uneed ($14.99) |
| $15 to $29.99 | 2 | CodeHype ($15) and DevHunt ($19) |
| $30 to $49.99 | 5 | ScrollLaunch ($39), Launch Llama ($39), Fazier ($49), TinyLaunch ($39) and Microlaunch ($39) |
| $50 or more | 0 | - |

## Every directory {#by-directory}

"Not verified" means we couldn’t read it; "None" means we looked and it wasn’t offered.

| Directory | Paid launch | Free followed link | Submission package | Sampled pages without nofollow | ref or utm on links | Free tools |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| ScrollLaunch | $39 | Only with a badge or link back | $99 to $199 | 9 of 9 | Yes | 73 |
| CodeHype | $15 | Only with a badge or link back | $49 to $149 | 6 of 6 | No | 0 |
| Launch Llama | $39 | Never (free links are nofollow) | $99 to $199 | 0 of 6 | Yes | 0 |
| ListBulb | $10.50 | Only with a badge or link back | None | Not verified | Not verified | 2 |
| Product Hunt | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Yes | Not verified |
| Uneed | $14.99 | Only with enough votes or a top rank | None | 8 of 8 | Yes | 10 |
| Peerlist Launchpad | None | Only with enough votes or a top rank | None | Not verified | Not verified | 0 |
| Fazier | $49 | Only with a badge or link back | None | 8 of 8 | Yes | 2 |
| TinyLaunch | $39 | Only with enough votes or a top rank | $279 | 4 of 8 | Yes | 0 |
| BetaList | Not verified | Not verified | None | Not verified | Yes | 0 |
| Microlaunch | $39 | Not verified | $149 | Not verified | Yes | 1 |
| DevHunt | $19 | Never (free links are nofollow) | None | 1 of 1 | Yes | About 70 |

## Questions {#questions}

### How much does a paid launch cost on startup launch directories? {#faq-paid-launch-cost}

9 of 10 launch directories with a readable price list sell a paid launch. The median price is $39, from $10.50 to $49.

### Which launch directories give free dofollow links? {#faq-free-dofollow}

None of the 9 launch directories whose free-listing rules we could read give every free listing a followed (dofollow) link. Of the 9, 4 require a badge or a link back, 3 require votes or a top rank and 2 keep free links nofollow. The ones that give a free listing a followed link in exchange for a badge or a link back are ScrollLaunch, CodeHype, ListBulb and Fazier.

## Methodology {#methodology}

- Source: the public pages of 13 startup launch directories, read by hand on Nov 2, 2026. No accounts were created and nothing was submitted.
- 12 had at least one fact we could verify. TryLaunch could not be read (a client-rendered or blocked page) and is left out.
- Each finding counts only the directories where that fact could be verified, so denominators differ between findings. Each finding says what it is out of.
- Prices are the cheapest paid launch listed that day, in US dollars, as shown on the site. Several sites show discounted "was / now" prices; the price shown is used.
- Link checks read the rel attribute of the outbound product link in the page HTML: 1 to 9 product pages per directory, usually recent launches. We couldn’t tell which plan each page was on. Links that go through the directory’s own redirect are left out.
- Audience numbers (visitors, subscribers) are each site’s own claims, so they are not used.
- Spotlighted is a launch directory too. It is not included.
- A finding needs at least 8 directories with a known value. Below 20, shares are given as counts, not percentages. Percentages are rounded to the nearest whole number; the median of an even count is the mean of the middle two. Numbers within 10% of each other are called about the same.
- Not reported: links on product pages (only 7 directories with sampled product pages (46 pages); a finding needs 8 directories).
- Not reported: badge rules and launch prices (only 4 and 4 directories in the two groups; each needs 8).
- Refresh: this is a one-time check. Prices change often, so treat them as correct on Nov 2, 2026 only. The date on this page changes only when the data is checked again.

### Sources {#sources}

- [ScrollLaunch](https://www.scrolllaunch.com/pricing)
- [CodeHype](https://codehype.net/pricing)
- [Launch Llama](https://tools.launchllama.co/pricing)
- [TryLaunch](https://trylaunch.ai)
- [ListBulb](https://listbulb.com/pricing)
- [Product Hunt](https://www.producthunt.com)
- [Uneed](https://www.uneed.best/pricing)
- [Peerlist Launchpad](https://peerlist.io/launchpad)
- [Fazier](https://fazier.com/advertise)
- [TinyLaunch](https://www.tinylaunch.com/pricing)
- [BetaList](https://betalist.com/boost)
- [Microlaunch](https://microlaunch.net/premium)
- [DevHunt](https://devhunt.org/promote)

## Cite this report {#cite}

Spotlighted, "Launch Directory Study 2026: 12 Sites Compared", November 2026. https://spotlighted.app/research/launch-directories

## Related

- [All research](https://spotlighted.app/research)
- [FAQ](https://spotlighted.app/faq)
