Launch Directory Study 2026: 12 Sites Compared

Of 12 startup launch directories checked by hand on Nov 2, 2026, 9 of 10 sell a paid launch (median $39), none of 9 give every free listing a followed link and 9 of 10 tag outbound links with ref or utm.

Data checked Nov 2, 2026. 13 checked, 12 analyzed.

Key findings

9 of 10 launch directories with a readable price list sell a paid launch. The median price is $39, from $10.50 to $49.

Out of: Directories whose price list we could read (10); the median is over the 9 that sell a paid launch.

Link to this finding

None of the 9 launch directories whose free-listing rules we could read give every free listing a followed (dofollow) link. Of the 9, 4 require a badge or a link back, 3 require votes or a top rank and 2 keep free links nofollow.

Out of: Directories whose rules for free listings we could read (9).

Link to this finding

Tracking parameters

9 of 10 launch directories whose outbound links we checked add a ref or utm parameter to them, so founders can see the directory as a source in their analytics.

Out of: Directories whose outbound product links we checked (10).

Link to this finding

Directory submission packages

5 of 11 launch directories whose offers we could read sell a done-for-you package that submits your product to other directories, priced from $49 to $279.

Out of: Directories whose offers we could read (11).

Link to this finding

Free tools

6 of 11 launch directories whose sites we could read publish free tools. The largest lists are ScrollLaunch (73) and DevHunt (about 70).

Out of: Directories whose site we could read (11).

Link to this finding

Out of the 9 directories whose rules for free listings we could read.

RuleDirectoriesWhich
Every free listing0-
Only with a badge or link back4ScrollLaunch, CodeHype, ListBulb and Fazier
Only with enough votes or a top rank3Uneed, Peerlist Launchpad and TinyLaunch
Never (free links are nofollow)2Launch Llama and DevHunt

Paid launch prices

The cheapest paid launch at each of the 9 directories that sell one, as listed on Nov 2, 2026.

PriceDirectoriesWhich
Under $152ListBulb ($10.50) and Uneed ($14.99)
$15 to $29.992CodeHype ($15) and DevHunt ($19)
$30 to $49.995ScrollLaunch ($39), Launch Llama ($39), Fazier ($49), TinyLaunch ($39) and Microlaunch ($39)
$50 or more0-

Every directory

"Not verified" means we couldn’t read it; "None" means we looked and it wasn’t offered.

DirectoryPaid launchFree followed linkSubmission packageSampled pages without nofollowref or utm on linksFree tools
ScrollLaunch$39Only with a badge or link back$99 to $1999 of 9Yes73
CodeHype$15Only with a badge or link back$49 to $1496 of 6No0
Launch Llama$39Never (free links are nofollow)$99 to $1990 of 6Yes0
ListBulb$10.50Only with a badge or link backNoneNot verifiedNot verified2
Product HuntNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedNot verifiedYesNot verified
Uneed$14.99Only with enough votes or a top rankNone8 of 8Yes10
Peerlist LaunchpadNoneOnly with enough votes or a top rankNoneNot verifiedNot verified0
Fazier$49Only with a badge or link backNone8 of 8Yes2
TinyLaunch$39Only with enough votes or a top rank$2794 of 8Yes0
BetaListNot verifiedNot verifiedNoneNot verifiedYes0
Microlaunch$39Not verified$149Not verifiedYes1
DevHunt$19Never (free links are nofollow)None1 of 1YesAbout 70

Questions

How much does a paid launch cost on startup launch directories?

9 of 10 launch directories with a readable price list sell a paid launch. The median price is $39, from $10.50 to $49.

Which launch directories give free dofollow links?

None of the 9 launch directories whose free-listing rules we could read give every free listing a followed (dofollow) link. Of the 9, 4 require a badge or a link back, 3 require votes or a top rank and 2 keep free links nofollow. The ones that give a free listing a followed link in exchange for a badge or a link back are ScrollLaunch, CodeHype, ListBulb and Fazier.

Methodology

  • Source: the public pages of 13 startup launch directories, read by hand on Nov 2, 2026. No accounts were created and nothing was submitted.
  • 12 had at least one fact we could verify. TryLaunch could not be read (a client-rendered or blocked page) and is left out.
  • Each finding counts only the directories where that fact could be verified, so denominators differ between findings. Each finding says what it is out of.
  • Prices are the cheapest paid launch listed that day, in US dollars, as shown on the site. Several sites show discounted "was / now" prices; the price shown is used.
  • Link checks read the rel attribute of the outbound product link in the page HTML: 1 to 9 product pages per directory, usually recent launches. We couldn’t tell which plan each page was on. Links that go through the directory’s own redirect are left out.
  • Audience numbers (visitors, subscribers) are each site’s own claims, so they are not used.
  • Spotlighted is a launch directory too. It is not included.
  • A finding needs at least 8 directories with a known value. Below 20, shares are given as counts, not percentages. Percentages are rounded to the nearest whole number; the median of an even count is the mean of the middle two. Numbers within 10% of each other are called about the same.
  • Not reported: links on product pages (only 7 directories with sampled product pages (46 pages); a finding needs 8 directories).
  • Not reported: badge rules and launch prices (only 4 and 4 directories in the two groups; each needs 8).
  • Refresh: this is a one-time check. Prices change often, so treat them as correct on Nov 2, 2026 only. The date on this page changes only when the data is checked again.

Sources

Cite this report

Spotlighted, "Launch Directory Study 2026: 12 Sites Compared", November 2026. https://spotlighted.app/research/launch-directories

Related